63.36 per cent voter turnout recorded in second phase of Jharkhand elections

63.36 per cent voter turnout recorded in second phase of Jharkhand elections
Posted By: Shruti Kumari

Jamshedpur. Second phase of the assembly election ended in Jharkhand yesterday. Polling began at 7am for 20 seats. Chief Minister Raghubar Das is contesting from Jamshedpur against saryu Rai, former cabinet colleague and Gaurabh Vallabh from Congress. Prime Minister Narendra Modi requested people to come out and vote in large numbers.

BJP is actively contesting against JMM and congress on all 20 seats, while opposition has divided 14 and six seats respectively.

A total of 63.36 per cent of voter turnout was recorded in second phase.

The safety and security of the Polling booths are very crucial in Jharkhand. The Maoists last Saturday blew the Bishunpur bridge in Gumla District. No one was injured or killed. During the vote, two more major incidents were reported. One person was killed, and six others were injured in police firing in Gumla. Another incident was reported at Sisai, two policemen and one officer were injured.

Jharkhand Chief Electoral officer Vinay Kumar Choubey declared 949 polling station out of 6,066 to be ‘critical’ and 762 to be Maoist-affected. He added that due to polling stations being Maoist-affected armed police have been guarded as a safety measure.

Some major names are seen to be contesting in the second phase including Water Resources Minister Ramchandra Sahis, former cabinet minister Saryu Rai, Urban Development Minister Neelkanth Singh Munda, Jharkhand Assembly speaker Dinesh Oraon, and state BJP president Laxman Giluwa.

The second phase of voting is very critical for BJP to remain in the power. The party is facing a tough challenge from JMM-Congress alliance and Lalu Yadav’s RJD. BJP must also deal with AJSU (All Jharkhand Students Union) as Tribal voters are quite upset with a non-tribal Chief Minister provided by BJP. The first two Chief Ministers – Babulal Marandi and Arjun Munda were from Tribal community and they expect their leader to be from their community.

This is the fourth assembly election in Jharkhand since its separation from Bihar in 2000. Jharkhand will vote in five phases till December 20 on 81-member assembly. The election results will be out on December 23.

Copyright © 2018-2020 Young India